How many states made up the United States of Indonesia which was formed in December 1949?

27, 1949), their political sovereignty over the entire territory of the former Dutch East Indies, with the exception of West New Guinea (West Irian), to the Republic of the United States of Indonesia, which was to be a federal government formed of the republican state and the 15 autonomous states created by the Dutch.

How many states do we have in Indonesia?

It has 34 provinces, of which five have special status. The country’s capital, Jakarta, is the world’s second-most populous urban area.

Is Indonesia part of the United States?

Indonesia and the United States established diplomatic relations in 1949. Relations are generally strong and close. Both are republics, and each nation reciprocally recognizes the strategic importance of their counterpart.

Indonesia–United States relations.

Indonesia United States
Indonesian Embassy, Washington, D.C. United States Embassy, Jakarta

How many islands make up Indonesia?

Indonesia is the largest archipelago in the world. It consists of five major islands and about 30 smaller groups. There are total number of 17,508 islands of which about 6000 are inhabited.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Quick Answer: What factors contributing to Filipino?

What was Indonesia before 1949?

Dutch East Indies

Dutch East Indies Nederlandsch-Indië (Dutch) Hindia-Belanda (Indonesian)
• 1948–1949 Juliana
• 1800–1801 (first) Pieter G. van Overstraten
• 1949 (last) A. H. J. Lovink

How was Indonesia formed?

Situated on a major fault and part of the infamous volcanic zone called the “Ring of Fire”, Indonesia was created from violent seismic activity that created most of the 17,000 islands that form the nation today. The islands of Indonesia have a great effect on the change of the Australian and Pacific tectonic plates.

How is the state of Indonesia?

Provinces of Indonesia are the 34 administrative division of Indonesia and the highest tier of the local government (formerly called first-level region provinces or provinsi daerah tingkat I).

Provinces of Indonesia
Created 17 August 1945
Number 34 Provinces (as of 17 November 2012)

When was Indonesia founded?

The co-operation was based on the understanding that Japan would unite the Dutch East Indies, Malaya and Borneo and grant them independence. It was understood that under a unified Japanese occupation of these areas, the formation of Greater Indonesia was possible.

When should the United States of Indonesia and the Netherlands Indonesian be formed?

Both the United States of Indonesia and the Netherlands–Indonesian Union were to be formed not later than Jan. 1, 1949. The two governments agreed to settle by arbitration any dispute that might arise and that they could not settle by themselves.

What 6 countries make up Indonesia?

The following islands are listed by province:

  • Java.
  • Sumatra.
  • Kalimantan.
  • Sulawesi.
  • Lesser Sunda Islands.
  • Maluku Islands.
  • Western New Guinea.
IT IS INTERESTING:  Is it good to buy property in Philippines?

How many cities are in Indonesia?

Indonesia has 12 cities with more than a million people, 121 cities with between 100,000 and 1 million people, and 242 cities with between 10,000 and 100,000 people.

How is Indonesia divided?

Indonesia is divided into provinces (Indonesian: Provinsi). Provinces are made up of regencies (kabupaten) and cities (kota). Provinces, regencies and cities have their own local governments and parliamentary bodies.

What is Indonesia old name?

Indonesia was formerly known as the Dutch East Indies (or Netherlands East Indies).

Is Bali a state of Indonesia?

Bali (/ˈbɑːli/; Balinese: ᬩᬮᬶ) is a province of Indonesia and the westernmost of the Lesser Sunda Islands. East of Java and west of Lombok, the province includes the island of Bali and a few smaller neighbouring islands, notably Nusa Penida, Nusa Lembongan, and Nusa Ceningan.

Who first discovered Indonesia?

Europeans such as the Portuguese arrived in Indonesia from the 16th century seeking to monopolise the sources of valuable nutmeg, cloves, and cubeb pepper in Maluku. In 1602, the Dutch established the Dutch East India Company (VOC) and became the dominant European power by 1610.